BDSM as a Lifestyle

View previous topic View next topic Go down

BDSM as a Lifestyle

Post by Emerald on Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:37 am

Ok guys, I noticed that not too many people here know a lot about BDSM as a lifestyle a belief system.
It's nothing like what society shows it as. It's not about the whips and chains and leather fetishes that so many people think it is.
I don't know all of it, since I am still learning myself, but I wanted to shed some light on the topic.

Part of the BDSM belief system is asking 'why', and making choices for yourself. We grow up learning things in the environment we live in. Society tells us stealing and killing is wrong. Society tells us that certain words are inappropriate to say in places like school and work. The BDSM belief is taking a step out of that bubble of society and asking 'why'. Why is it inappropriate to say things like 'fuck', 'shit', and 'ass' in the work place? Why are these words even labeled badly? Why.

The belief system also includes aspects of respect, honor, and accountability. By accepting and learning the belief system, you are looking at the world in a different way. You are looking at everything objectively, and you have to respect that others have not done the same. You can look at the world in any way you want, but part of BDSM is to understand and respect that other people see it differently then you do. By making your own choices, you must take accountability for your actions. No matter what it is that you've done, you are accountable for everything you do, be it good or bad.

BDSM is also about taking a step back and understanding yourself. Look at everything you do, how you feel, and ask yourself why you feel that way. Why you do what you do.

The Master/slave aspect of it is not all power-loving dominance and kiss-ass submission, as a lot of society portrays it as.